Qty In Basket: 0
Subtotal: $0.00
Spalding Labs - Fly Control
Spalding Labs - Fly Control

Reviews by M from CO

5 out of 5 stars Essential - Single Best Training Device, 8/15/2012 4:17:28 PM
Very well made product. Although pricey, obviously a quality product so I'm fine with the cost. Higgins included two articles on how to use the launcher as well as clear directions on adding the DT remote electronics. Transferred the DT parts very easily and the remote works fine. This gives me three DTs and one Higgins. I can see where I will use the Higgins more than the DT. I think the DT is good for a stop to flush (timing always tough) and for a back bird flush on a pointing situation. I can see where using both together is better than just one or the other. My recommendation is to have both types for a better training scenario. I do see where you need a launched in the air bird on many situations, but also many others where the Higgins is perfect. I know my dogs recognize the sound of the DT trap and stop on it. In most cases, I think I have a stop to trap and not stop to flush. As always, the greatest problem is when the quail are poor and do not fly or fly well. What is especially nice about the Higgins is you can load it with 4 quail, release them five minutes or so before you work the area, and you know you have birds but they are not trap dependent and have moved around the ground to some extent. I have had trouble with the DT traps as dogs, once they know it is a trap, sometimes crowd it. You then have the problem of springing a bird in the dogs face or moving it on. The DT tends to let the dog get too close to the trap. Even if the dog gets close to the open Higgins and the quail have not flown, the dog will not be startled by a remote release, and the bird will pop if too much pressure by a dog just as wild birds will do.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Share this review

DT Systems, Super Pro e-Lite, SPT 2400, Beeper/Locator
DT Systems, Super Pro e-Lite, SPT 2400, Beeper/Locator
* 2400 Yard (1.3 Mile) Range

* 50 Levels of Intensity adjusted from the Transmitter

* LCD Screen on Transmitter

* Digital Technology to Maximize Power

* Maxx-Range Internal Collar Antenna System

* Gentle Touch System Extra Mild Stimulation

* Built-In Safety Shut-Off

* Rechargeable Ni-MH Battery System

* Completely Waterproof Transmitters and Collars

* Positive Vibration, Jump, and Rise Stimulations on all models

* Beeper/Locator

1 out of 1 person found the following review helpful.

4 out of 5 stars Satisfactory - Been Good - Use Them Always, 2/17/2012 6:49:00 PM
I have the 2432 which has two collars so I can run two dogs off the same controller at the same time. This works well for me. They have worked satisfactorily for 6 years. I had to repair the beeper on one when a wire came loose, and the rubber plug for the recharging port on the collars is hard to get out and seat properly after you charge the collars. I like the tone, and use it to warn a dog that is not responding before I use stimulation sometimes. When I need new collars, I will consider these, but will also see what else is around to make an informed decision. Been good, no complaints, but maybe a little heavy on the dog. The different options for stimulation are good, but I wish they colored the buttons for the different features. I am easily confused and now color my buttons with a pen to ensure I hit the one I want. Probably just my problem ...

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Share this review

Alfa Starter Pistol

1 out of 1 person found the following review helpful.

5 out of 5 stars Good, 2/17/2012 6:23:21 PM
Has worked perfectly for six years.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Share this review

DT Systems, Natural Flush Remote Bird Launcher, Quail/Pigeon, With Transmitter
DT Systems, Natural Flush Remote Bird Launcher, Quail/Pigeon, With Transmitter
* Easy-Load trap door allowing bird loading or unloading quick and easy.

* Quiet-Release system to prevent "spooking" your dog.

* High quality nets and springs for effective launching.

* Large scent holes.

* Up to 16 self-programmable launchers controlled with one remote transmitter.

* 700 yard range.

* Beeper locators on launcher for ease of use and recovery after a long day of training dogs.
* Does include the transmitter!!!

4 out of 5 stars Have Three of Them, 2/17/2012 6:22:28 PM
My most used training devices. I have three and made one into a backing dummy that pops up a dog for me. Further, I like being able to program more than one to go off at the same time when I am trying to work on a stop to flush. Finally, if I am just training, it works well for me to put the traps out and then release the birds when I get within an area so I can see where they go or at least know they haven't been killed by an owl or hawk while I was getting dogs ready or eating lunch. They are quiet, but you clearly can hear them, and dogs know when one has been released. I also find you have to be careful as once dogs know the sound, they can tend to crowd the trap. Overall, very valuable.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Share this review

Mendota, Versa Belt Lead, 1" W X 30" L
Mendota, Versa Belt Lead, 1" W X 30" L
The Mendota Versa Belt Lead is very easy to use, simply slide your belt through the belt loop portion of the lead and you and your good dog are ready to go. And for those occasions when it might be better to have the lead in your hand, not on your hip, quickly unsnap the lead from the belt loop. It's as simple as that!

5 out of 5 stars Perfect at Trials and Hunt Tests at the Line, 2/17/2012 6:08:18 PM
The snap clip on this lead makes it perfect for field trials and hunt tests when you are not releasing your own dog and need to be on a horse or just want someone to release your dog. You can lock it closed, but it also can be set just to pinch and open making it easy to get anyone nearby to release your dog. It also has a loop in the handle so you can attach it easily to your belt or to something on your horse without having to tie knots in a lead.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Share this review

Quail Coop, COOP 6 Q

5 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2/17/2012 5:05:55 PM
Small enough not to be in the way, but very convenient to take to training. I have the larger crate also, but find this small ones meets my training needs better.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Share this review

Garmin, Portable Long Range Antenna

4 out of 5 stars Well Worth the Extra Range, 2/8/2012 11:24:36 PM
The one comment that I have heard is that the Garmin does not always have the range as advertised. I rarely have to use this antenna, but when I tested it, I had an honest five miles when I turned around and headed back to camp. It is small enough to take with you, but I keep mine in the truck. If I had to run the roads to locate a lost dog, this is something that I would want to use.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Share this review

1 out of 1 person found the following review helpful.

4 out of 5 stars Multi- Use Product, 2/8/2012 11:19:45 PM
I find the collar excellent in all respects. There are so many features, it does take time to study the device and make the most of the many features. In particular, the tone it sounds when a dog is on point is extremly valuable, especially when your dog is in high crp or corn. Frankly, I find it as valuable as a training device as for locating a dog at range which has made me a much better trainer with my dog. Even with dogs with a shorter gun dog range, the ability to take a quick glance and see when the dog is helps you not to whistle needlessly or over handle a dog when it is not necessary. Further, when it does get beyond a confortable range for you, you can see the distance of the dog from you and can handle the dog back in closer. Finally, because you can watch the range from you to your dog change at distance, you can measure the impact of your commands on the dog, whether whistle, voice, or stimulation. First rate product ... I also use it to navigate in the car to locations just as any other Garmin product. Oh yes ... if so inclined, you can download both the track you walked as well as the path the dog worked on your personal computer and study where you found birds and the pace of your dog.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Share this review

Professional Ecommerce Services By GlobalWebCart Ecommerce Shopping Cart Software